I need a 36 hour day.  I really do.  I know people who have 8, 12, 15 and even 18 dogs.  Most work full time.  How do they do it!?? 

I am trying to draft up a weekly training plan and am having trouble.  I have read that the optimum frequency of training is three times a week.  I have four dogs, so that means 12 training sessions a week.  If I want to take one day off a week, that means 12 sessions in 6 days, or 2 sessions a day.

For me a training session is when I spend individual time with the dog, generally hiking or playing, and building in training as we go.  Usually it lasts 30-45 minutes. It can also be a lesson, say a formal herding or agility lesson.  I’m not including very short 5-10 minute sessions I do with the dogs prior to feeding, once or twice most days.

In good weather, I go herding twice a week, and to agility once a week.  So that’s Hannah covered, although lately both have been canceled due to weather and holidays, but I can keep her on those days and work on our own.  But how to fit in the rest?  Another 9 training sessions!  It means training two dogs each day, plus taking the other two out for a hike together.  That means three 30-60 minute walks a day for me, 6 days a week.  I’m tired just thinking about it!

I spend 3-5 hours a day with the dogs, which means upwards of a 35 hour work week just taking care of my dogs!  Did I mention I work full-time, plus have a bunch of other things on the side?  No wonder I’m chronically tired these days.  Two dogs definitely was a much simpler life.  I’m really going to have to think things through to find a way to make this easier!!

