I am still house sitting out in the country.  I have to admit, it was nice to wake up this morning – a day I am working from home – and just open the back door and let the dogs out to run.  Whenever I stay somewhere with a big fenced yard, I become envious.  But it has its drawbacks.  For one, I am tempted to spend less one on one time with each dog, letting them run together as an easy means of exercise.  I don’t think that’s a big problem as long as you do a lot of individual training, but with all this moving and traveling I’ve been doing over the past 3 weeks, that has fallen to the wayside.  The only one I’ve been training nearly every day is the puppy, even if it’s just for 5 minutes. But I digress…

 When I went to let the dogs back in for breakfast, Finn was coated in feces.  His whole side was smeared in sloppy kibble poop in a way that made it clear he did not roll in it intentionally.  Being so submissive, he usually ends up on the bottom of wrestle-fests, and apparently one such session took place on top of the canine version of a cow plat. 

 Apparently it was time to do poop-duty.

Anyone who claims they don’t have the time to feed raw really needs to take into consideration the bigger picture.  It took me a good 30 minutes to clean up two days worth of excrement from 6 kibble fed dogs.  I really hate kibble poo.  It was everywhere in large, soft, squishy piles that had be coaxed and scraped out of the grass.  An enjoyable task this was not!  Sure, my dogs were using the yard as well, but would have taken me less than 5 minutes to pick up after them, mostly spent actually trying to find it.  Their stool, which is distinct and easy to identify, is small in volume and frequency, and still firm and easy to remove even after a night of heavy rain.  This alone makes raw feeding worthwhile, in my humble opinion.

