We got more snow today, so everything is nice and white again.  As far as I’m concerned, there’s no point it being cold without snow to make it pretty and bright.  Otherwise winter is just too gloomy.  So I am grateful for this snow. And so are the dog!  It always makes me smile to watch dogs run in the snow.  They are forever little kids experiencing their first deep snow, leaping, bounding, pouncing and digging.  One of these days I’ll get a camera and finally document this infectious glee.

This morning I met with my dog hiking partner and we took the dogs for a good run in the woods.  There is no wind in the bush, so we have been sticking to our routine even on the coldest days.  I do worry about the dogs slipping on ice and hurting themselves, but they seem to have enough sense to slow down when the footing gets slippery. 

I brought Hannah today, and surprisingly she stayed close and played with the other dogs.  I don’t always bring her as she usually takes off into the woods on her own, and I have to constantly call her back.  Sometimes she’ll take off and be gone for a good 10-15 minutes, scaring the living daylights out of me.  Typically it’s because she’s come across deer and chases them until she loses them, then has to find her way back.  Today she didn’t do that, even when we did flush out a deer.

It’s funny how easy it is to leave something unquestioned.  My only thoughts this morning were of relief at not having to constantly call my dog, and a little curiosity as to why she was behaving so well today.  It’s only just now, as I write this out, that I remembered that I gave her a new homeopathic remedy last night.  I haven’t given her anything for months, but recently decided to give this latest remedy a try as it seems to be a good fit for her current profile.  I will have to  watch carefully to see if this change of behaviour persists.  I certainly would be happy about it, that’s for sure!

