As usual, the day after we get home from traveling, I spend the day catching up on my life and the dogs spend the day sleeping. I find it interesting that even though they were in crates all day yesterday, today they are quiet and sleepy.  Clearly the travel is as tiring for them as it is for me.  I really don’t think dogs enjoy trialing as much as people do – they are cooped up much of the time, sitting around bored in their crates, x-pens or on chains under trucks.  A few fun moments, at least for the ones competing, perhaps a bit of time running with new dogs, and then back to the crates.  I make a point of taking my guys elsewhere, to some nice hiking trail nearby, but that still doesn’t make up for having to sleep in the car overnight I don’t think!  I’m happy to be home; we all are.  Even the cats made it clear that we had been away too much, demanding attention non-stop all evening and then sleeping glued to me overnight.

So today I didn’t even take the dogs for a run at the nearby park.  I will make it up to them tomorrow.  Fatigue is hitting me and I’m going to bed early; I’ll hopefully go to the farm in the morning to train.  By the sounds of it, we may only have a few days left to do so…

