I have several half started posts that I need to finish and get up.  First I’ll post a few photos, however, as I know that most people like photos more than words.  I do too, although I love to write.  Reading is effort, photos are effortless.  They tell a story without the mind having to translate words.  

I’ve read and been told that we actually naturally think in pictures, but as language forms, we block these images out somehow and let words take over.  I don’t understand this very well – I don’t think anyone does.  But the concept fascinates me.  Animals, as a best guess, think in pictures.  Animal communicators have explained this to me, as the messages they receive from animals often come in the form of pictures, or of smells, sounds or feelings.  Rarely – if ever – in words.  Interestingly, according to Temple Grandin in her book Animals in Translation, autistic people also think in pictures.  

I’ve read a few books on animal communication (including Learning their Language and Animals Speak, both interesting and enjoyable introductory reads), and worked with several communicators over the years.  All assert quite confidently that every one of us is capable of communicating with animals, but because of this word issue, that part of our brains which is used to do so is either poorly developed or subordinated to the word using part.  

I think the latter (i.e. subordination) makes more sense, as we all have moments of intuition, of “gut feeling.”  We often ignore these, typically to our detriment.  The first step to better communication with our animals is to listen to this gut feeling.  Mine has always been right, and I’m getting much better at trusting it.  

My own direct experience with animal communication has been marginal at best.  I think this is because I am such a ‘wordy’ person – reading and writing is my life.  That part of my brain absolutely dominates, and getting it to take the back seat requires a monumental effort on my part.  I’ve only been able to do it a few times, usually due to urgency.  For example, when my cat Liam has gone missing.  This has happened a few times, and each time I received a very distinct either emotional or visual message ‘from’ him.  Each time this message has been accurate and helped me find him.  

On one occasion, having read the aforementioned books, instead of searching for him I sat quietly under a tree in my yard and did my best to clear my mind.  Nothing happened, other than the panic I was feeling started to ease and I gradually started to drift off to sleep.  Then quite suddenly and clearly, the picture of a gate and garden pop into my head, which I recognized as being two blocks away, a place Liam and I had walked past on one of our outings.  I simultaneously had the feeling of curiosity about what was through that gate. The gate had been closed when we had walked past (Liam and I go for walks).  I concluded that Liam had wanted to explore what was through that gate and went back to check it out.  I walked down there, and, sure enough, there he was – the gate was open and he was exploring the garden, happy as a clam.   

Another example of intuition helping find a lost animal is the following.  A woman I know lost her blind dog and was in a panic trying to find her.  The dog had been missing for over half a day.  She had looked everywhere she could think of, and was at her wits end trying to decide where to look next.  I suggested she sit down and try to relax, to free her mind so that she could receive any messages her dog was trying to send her.  Willing to try anything at that point, despite thinking I was being a bit loopy, she found a quiet place and cleared her mind.  She said she sat for some time and nothing happened.  Then, suddenly, she could smell water.  Swampy, river-type water.  There was a ravine not too far from her house, and she went straight there.  Sure enough, there was her dog.  Her blind dog, who could still obviously smell perfectly well.  

I’ve had a few more such moments, but not many.  Try as I might, I really can’t make much headway into freeing up that part of my mind.  Maybe I’ll get better at it if I move away from writing so much.  We’ll see.  In the meantime, here are a few images from our walk two days ago that require no effort to see at all. 

Winter wonderland:

The standard ‘let’s herd the boss!’ line-up:


The snow cover, which melted completely two weeks ago, is starting to get quite deep again:

 

But that didn’t stop Mira from running…:

…and running…

…and running…

…and running!


Hannah, on the other hand, was more interested in playing fetch:

Yes, I actually tried to throw this for her after she did all that effort to dig it up and bring it to me.  Such an industrious girl, always finding something to do… I really need to get this dog some sheep and proper work! :

Ross did his share of running as well:

(and chasing!)


After a while, however, the very heavy, wet snow started to slow things down.  With the smooth coats, it didn’t find much other than their dog tags to stick to:

With poor Ross, however, it was quite a different story.  The snow started to ball on his coat, and became impossible to get off without pulling out the hair as well!  He was a good sport about it: 

And he did his best not to let it slow him down:

But eventually the snow accumulation just got plain ridiculous.  I didn’t know whether to laugh or cry while taking this photo! (I chose laughter, as apparently did Ross).  Hopefully he’ll forgive me for posting this on the web:

As neither of us could get the ice balls off his coat…

 

 

…we decided to cut the walk short, and head…

…home to thaw out!

