Wow – I can’t believe how long it’s been since I last wrote an entry!  It’s been a busy week.  First, I had a ton of work to do to catch up after being away last weekend.  I also picked up a couple of extra hours at work.  These are badly needed because I signed up for a Kevin Evans weekend clinic (not until early summer, but the deposit was due now), and I also want to sign up for a private lesson for that weekend as well.  I figure I might as well make the most of it, considering I will be traveling around 10+ hours each way to attend the clinic.  Fortunately I can camp on site for free, and I’ll be planning a more general vacation in the area around the event, visiting a few friends etc.    I’m quite excited about this, but really need to get back into training well in advance of it to make the clinic worth the effort and expense.

This week we had some very heavy rain and it melted about 85% of the snow in the area.  The rain plus melted snow made for serious flooding and the river near our house leaped its banks and flooded the fields we usually walk in.  This is the second time the river has flooded to such an extent in the last 9 months or so, an event that I believe has never happened before.  If this is any indication of what we can expect from global warming, we’re in trouble…

So the dogs didn’t get much exercise for a few days while we waited for the river to recede.  It’s back in its bed now, although swollen and raging and very dangerous.  Fortunately the dogs aren’t interested in swimming in winter, so they didn’t go near it.  And the fields around the house are now clear of snow and ice.  Yipee!

I am writing this from my parents house as my mother fell and broke her arm this weekend and I have come home to help around the house for the week as she figures out how to do things with one hand.  I just felt sick knowing she was hurt and it drove me nuts to have to wait two days to come home (I had to work yesterday and today, and can’t afford to skip even one shift).  My dad was home all weekend so she was fine, and now I’m here so I can help out.  I am happy to be here with the big yard and the fantastic flood-free trails across the street from their house.  Being able to run all four dogs at once is going to make my life much easier!

