Wow – I can’t believe how long it’s been since I last wrote!  The end of every academic term is always very busy for me.  This year I’m not teaching but I am still proctoring exams, grading essays and exams, and also picking up extra shifts at the library from the undergrad students who can’t work because they have to study.  I’m also taking an advanced course on teaching theory and method so that is adding to my business.  

I hate being this busy, but it can’t be helped and is just for a short period of time.  Most of my part-time work wraps up at the end of April, which is approaching very quickly.  I can’t believe we’re already half way through the month!  April first feels like just yesterday.  Heck, so does Christmas!  

Another thing that keeps me busy this time of year is preparation for getting my garden growing.  What I am doing this summer is still very much up in the air, but I am continuing to prepare as if I am staying.  Until something concrete comes together for me to move, staying is what I must do.  So I am starting seedlings to plant in my garden, and if I end up moving before they need to be planted (end of May), I’ll just bring them with me.  I started 85 pots of seedlings last week: tomatoes, peppers, lettuce, kale, beets, herbs and a few other things.  Of course my garden is way too small to plant all of that, but I love to grow seedlings and then give them away to friends who love to garden.  So most of these are being grown to give away.  

As for the dogs, well they are getting their daily runs and a little bit of training, but that’s it.  We had to stop agility for the last two weeks because the arena flooded with all the rain.  My instructor emailed me today to say she moved her equipment home to the field next to her house, and that it is dry and that I could start training there instead this week.  I will also be farm sitting the sheep farm again for three weeks starting at the end of the month.  So the dogs will start getting more training shortly.  I’m really excited about getting sheep access again, as I’m sure you can imagine.  It’ll be good timing too because I have that Kevin Evans clinic in early June.  Hannah and I will get a lot more out of that if we’re back in good shape with training then if we go in cold, that’s for sure!

A friend just emailed me a list of sheep farms within a 2 hour drive of me where I might be allowed to train.  2 hours is a long way to drive and will make it difficult to train regularly, but some are closer than others, and I am hoping to find some regular options so we can get out at least twice a week, maybe even starting next week.  I have been contacting a few people but it is lambing season so most of their sheep are out of commission.  May will probably be better.  We’ll see.

That’s all for now…

