Ok, so this doesn’t directly have anything to do with my dogs, but it’s about helping our planet, and since the dogs live here too, I figure they’d be ok sharing their blog on this topic.  So… Happy Earth Day!  I’d love to say that I’m going to do something really wonderfully green and sustainable, but alas, I’m just working at my computer (using electricity), with the lights and heat on because it’s bloody cold out, and I haven’t even walked my dogs yet.  How pathetic!

I do my best to be as sustainable as possible every day, so I don’t tend to mark a special day as Earth Day.  That said, it is good to raise awareness and also to make some form of celebration around trying to give thanks to our life-giving Planet.  This weekend I cleaned up the last of the dead leaves and yard waste and put them in the compost, then I turned some soil in my garden and planted some lettuce, spinach, swiss chard and cold tolerant herbs.  I also freed up the soil around the little shoots coming up in my garden: garlic, taragon, sorel, chives, mint, oregano, thyme, sage, and various flowers such as lillies and violets.  It’s so exciting to see all this life coming up on its own!  Mother Earth is definitely having her own celebration, with or without us.  

I have also been trying to reduce my level of consumption, and work at lowering the impact of what it is that I do consume.  Today I was browsing the wonderful blog titled Unstuffed, and came across this link, which I would like to share: 

If you do nothing else to celebrate Earth Day, click on the image above and spend a few minutes reading the post that it brings you to.  And then keep these ideas in the back of your mind every time you pull out your wallet.

