A quick entry before I head off to campus.  I woke up this morning to find that Ross’s eyes are once again doing the droopy basset hound thing.  They have done this once before, back when he had the sore on his back and we treated him for the first time with Calc Carb.  Our homeopath said the droopy eyes were probably a minor aggravation from the remedy and, sure enough, they went back to normal within a couple of hours. 

For the last couple of days I have been thinking Ross’s eyes looked ever so slightly droopy, but this morning there is no ignoring it.  I’m not sure what’s going on – his eyes look like mine used to when I had bad hay fever as a kid.  Quite red, with the inner eyelid coming up over the eye.  

It is quite possible that he is having some kind of allergic reaction.  Yesterday he spent a lot of time jumping and splashing around in the river, and I know he sometimes gets a rash if he spends too much time in that water.  Last night he was itching a little, but he’s not itching today.  And he’s not scratching his eyes either – when I had allergies, my eyes were very itchy.  

So basically I don’t know what’s going on and I’m trying not to worry.  He is not showing any sign of distress or discomfort in any way, and is acting completely normal other than avoiding the sun as his eyes seems somewhat photophobic.  I have to go out to class for a couple of hours, and if he hasn’t improved I’ll take a photo and send it to our homeopath to see what she has to say.

As for the girls, Hannah and Kess are both in standing heat, and housebound.  As I mentioned yesterday, I had suspected that Kestrel was further along in her cycle than I had counted, and am glad I kept her home to err on the side of caution.  In my five years of living here I have only found 3 wandering dogs, all neutered and each belonging to a neighbour close by.  So it is highly unlikely that we’d encounter an intact  wandering male should we go for a run, but really, who wants to take that kind of risk?  Keeping them locked up in the house for a few days is not a big deal.  Besides, tomorrow we move to the sheep farm (I hope!) and will have plenty of securely fenced space for exercise, not to mention sheep to work!

So today the only dog who is going to get a nice run is Mira.  Lucky thing!

