A short entry today as I need to get down to work.  The dogs are all passed out around me.  Tired dogs always  makes me happy.  I didn’t do much with them, but it’s very hot today.  So a long walk on the beach with some fetching in the waves, followed by a big breakfast and 90F weather seems to have done the trick.  Of course I’d love to sleep through this heat too… We don’t have air conditioning, not that this has been a problem.  The last three days have been the first time we’ve had this kind of heat since June, and in June it only lasted 5 days.  No point putting in air conditioning for 10 days a year.

When I first went down to the beach this morning, I brought Ross and Kess.  They are still not getting along that well so I am trying to run them together more and hopefully improve their relationship.  Ross still bullies Kess and she is still quite afraid of him, rarely staying in the same room as him.  For example, Hannah, Ross and Mira are all sleeping within 5 feet of me, and Kess is nowhere to be seen.  She’s also a bit of a loner that way, so it may be more due to that then her concern about Ross.

Anyway, I took the two rough coats to the beach first today, wanting to get there before many people show up.  Dogs technically aren’t supposed to be on the beach, and since Kess is prone to rush up to people, I try to either walk her there alone (so I can focus on her) or take her there when it’s quiet.  The same is true for Ross, except that my concern with him is that he’ll charge up to other dogs.

Today there were no people and no dogs, just a lovely stretch of beach and plenty of warm sunshine.  It would have been perfect if were not for all the garbage on the beach.  I was shocked and dismayed to see how much crap people had left behind: water bottles, candy wrappers, pop cans, even the garbage from an entire meal – styrofoam containers, paper plates, plastic cutlery.  It’s as if people ate their meal, then got up and left.

What are these people thinking?  What lazy slobbish idiots come to this beach?  Who raised these jerks?

Can you tell I’m upset?  This beach is usually lovely and clean, yet after a heavy use weekend, it looks like garbage dump.  GRRRRR!!!!

After walking Ross & Kess, I went home, swapped dogs, grabbed two bags, and headed back to the beach.  It was still quiet, but I was also less concerned about my dogs bothering the tourists.  To hell with them I thought, as I walked along picking up garbage and throwing the ball for the girls.  I filled one bag to bursting with recycling, and had to tuck stuff under my arms when I ran out of room.  I filled the other bag full of garbage, and even made separate trips to the trash to drop off big stuff like broken lawn chairs.

When it was all done I dragged it all a block off the beach to a garbage and recycling depot.  By then I was ready for a swim myself!  Dripping with sweat and sticky from dripping beer, wine, pop and who knows what, I stripped down and jumped into the waves.

The water was wonderful.  It was so warm, in fact, that I found it not quite as refreshing as I had hoped.  The waves were very big and the girls didn’t follow me in.  I only went about 10 feet out (just to get past the breakers) as I worry about undertow when it gets rough like this.  Had I had someone watching and a floatation device, I would have floated there all morning.  As it was, I didn’t want to risk drowning so I came up on shore and sat in the wake, letting the waves crash over me.

As I sat there, I started feeling quite depressed.  I can’t believe people can come to such a beautiful place and treat it with such disregard.  It really leaves me wondering if there is any hope for change.  I end up packing out garbage just about everywhere I go these days, and it’s really upsetting.  Take a look at the pile of glass I picked up on one single walk through the forest surrounding campus this spring, where I used to live:

This is one of the reasons I wanted to move out of the city, yet here I find garbage everywhere even in more remote places.  I remember finding garbage floating in the ocean after hiking 25 miles through forest to a secluded beach.  Our planet is choking on garbage, yet people keep leaving it everywhere.  Perhaps the scenario from Wall-E is not that far fetched after all…

Walking home (ignoring more garbage since I no longer had anything to put it in) I noticed that Mira was lying down frequently.  It was hot, but she had been in the waves and not likely overheating.  Then she sniffed around as if she was going to pee, lay down, and curled her tail up over her back.  She was peeing laying down!  I really think she injured her back when that ewe ran her over.  I must contact the chiropractor to bring her in.

