It’s pouring rain out.  Again.  At least it’s warm – I was able to leave the patio door open to my bedroom last night, which is nice.  This house is very damp and the air not fresh when the house is shut up.  I kept that door open from the day I moved in until 2 weeks ago when it started to go down to nearly freezing at night.  I hope this wet, warm weather is not our “Indian Summer”  I was hoping for a few last sunny warm days – in fact I need them to finish putting my garden to bed for winter.

The little dog yard off the side of the house is starting to get muddy.  I left the grass fairly long, but the area around the composters is completely packed down and has no grass, and the far end is a bit torn up from when my roommate plays ball with them in that yard.  I run them on the rest of the property but she is nervous to let them out of the fenced area in case they don’t listen and take off.  I don’t think they would, but I appreciate that she’s very careful with my dogs and prefer it that way.  I have always been very reluctant to have others let my dogs run about off-leash when I’m not around.  It’s just better to be safe than sorry.

Today I am heading to my parents for the weekend and to spend Thanksgiving.  My brother and his wife are coming up from NY state, and my grandparents are driving from about 5 hours away.  It should be fun.  It’s also supposed to be very nice over the weekend.  Dry dogs will make my mother much less grumpy about having them around, so I’m keeping my fingers crossed for lots of sunshine!

I am heading out in hopefully just over and hour.  Lots to do in the meantime so I had best get down to it.  On the way home I am stopping at the farm where I trained over the Labour Day weekend.  I will be meeting a friend there and we are going to train together for a couple of hours.  Should be a good time.  Shame about the rain, mostly because I don’t have a waterproof jacket and am going to get soaked.  I really must replace that leaky coat this weekend as the weather is not going to get any nicer.

