Tonight I watched the dogs carefully, tracking who went where and checking my room after each time one went up the stairs.  Of course, nobody soiled the carpet.  Counting my blessings, I hopped into the shower to get ready for bed.  When I came out, there was a nice little land mine waiting for me in the bedroom.  I can’t win!

This time, however, I at least know who it was; surprise, surprise, it was Kestrel.  I had given her a bone this morning to keep her occupied in her crate as I knew it was going to be yet another long day.  She eats bones right down, and then poops non-stop for the next 24 hours.  Bone stool is dry and very light in colour, so quite distinct.  She’s the only one who has had a bone in the last two days, so there is no doubt about who left the deposit on my carpet. Bad puppy!

It’s frustrating that she is doing this because she spends a lot of time outside, so why is she then pooping in the house?  I’ll have to put some thought into this.  Is she just too busy while outside?  Is she not running around enough to get things moving, so to speak?  One problem is that she doesn’t have any way of letting me know when she needs to go out.  I need to teach her how to use the bell like the other girls.

Hopefully now that I know who’s behind this (although I still wonder if Mira is also defiling my bedroom…) I can fix the problem.  Certainly from now on it will be entirely my fault if it happens again.

