Well the dogs and I survived the last few hectic days and I am at my parents for the next ten.  My body is not happy with me right now and I’m plagued with fatigue and chronic pain, but I can finally start to focus on taking care of myself.  My New Year’s resolution this year is going to be to put my health back into first priority.  I am not swearing to any big exercise and diet plan, but rather to listen to my body and to take care of it.  I am far too young to be feeling so crappy and out of shape.  

To kick this off (a little before the new year), I went to an osteopath today.  I have worked with her before and the treatments are absolutely wonderful.  My back has been very painful since the accident in November and her adjustments made me feel better almost instantly.  I’ll know more when I wake up tomorrow morning, which is when my back hurts the most.  I have another appoinment scheduled on Monday, and she’s recommending massage therapy once a week for the next 6 weeks.  Whoo hoo! 

I am also starting to work with a new homeopath.  I have been wanting to work with this woman for a couple of years now and I’m really looking forward to our first meeting.  She lives near my parents, while I live two hours away, making it difficult to get together. I have worked with a couple of homeopaths over the internet in the past and have made good progress.  It does work that way.  But I felt we reached a plateau and I hoped that working with someone in person might get things moving forward again.  The other possibility is that homeopathy has done all it can do for me, but I hope that’s not the case.  I refuse to accept that I won’t get any better than I am now.  Of course moving to a healthier lifestyle, in terms of getting more physical exercise, will probably help a lot.  But some things I think are beyond just diet and exercise and I really hope homeopathy can do something about it.  I am specifically talking about the progressive pain that I deal with.  Since the accident I have been having transient pain in various extremities or muscles.  The shock of the impact clearly has triggered something that I hope can be reversed.

This new homeopath will be coming to my home for our first consult, which will take 2-3 hours.  She kindly offered to look at Ross while she’s here and give me her opinion on his health.  I have been trying to get him to a holistic vet for the last few weeks as I’m worried about the state of his coat.  When Ross is in good health, his coat is like silk.  Now it is dry yet oily at the base, fly away and slightly dirty feeling, suggesting an underlying imbalance.  Most likely his thyroid is going off again, and he may need to go back on thyroid supplements.  I am still planning on taking him to this vet in early January as he likely needs bloodwork done, but having the homeopath look at him will be wonderful.  In addition to treating people she does veterinary homeopathy and is quite experienced.

I am going to try and get to sleep early tonight.  With all the work I have had to do over the last few weeks, my sleep schedule is completely messed up.  Hopefully now that I am on a holiday schedule, I can get that sorted out.  I expect I’ll start to feel much better once I’m rested. I can now also start focusing on the dogs again too.

